Posted in Great gift, Upper Primary

Queenie

Queenie

By Jacqueline Wilson

 

Elsie and her Nan are living fine together… until Elsie’s Nan is suddenly diagnosed with pulmonary tuberculosis. Elsie’s Mum works in show business, and has to give up her job in order to look after Elsie. Soon, she finds a new job in the city, but Elsie has bigger problems than her Mum. She’s been diagnosed with tuberculosis of the knee. She has to go to Miltree Orthopaedic hospital to recover, where she is put on total bed rest. She gets into a lot of trouble in the hospital, but shares good times with her new friends along the way. Her Mum’s visits are few and in between, but at least she has the friendly Nurse Gabriel there during visiting hours. Elsie was going to see the queen’s coronation with her Nan, but now it looks like they’ll both be stuck in bed for it. But worst of all, her mother’s run off with her employer: who’ll look after her now? Will Elsie’s dream of meeting the queen come true? And can she stay out of the children’s home long enough for her Nan to get better? This story is interesting, and I love these kinds of stories. The author has woven an intricate plot which hooks you right from the beginning. It will touch you deeply.

Age group: Upper primary

WTB: Erindale and Woden libraries

Verdict: Heartwarming

Rating: 10/10 (I probably give too many 10/10 ratings, but I want to post mostly good books on my blog)

Author:

Hiya! I'm Matilda LJ. I LOVE reading and writing! They're my favourite things to do! I'm in year 6 this year and I'm sooo excited! I really want to be a teacher when I grow up, and dream of changing the world for the better.

Leave a Reply

